My Redeemer and Tornado Tears named Sandown GOTY

My Redeemer and Tornado Tears have been named joint winners of the 2018 Sandown Greyhound of the Year.

The voting panel consisting of the club’s committee, CEO and Racing Manager couldn’t split the pair after each compiled an outstanding record at the View Road circuit throughout the calendar year.

Tornado Tears announced himself as one of the country’s most exciting chasers when running 41.20 on his 715m debut – the second fastest time ever recorded – as well as the second fastest time over 595m (33.67). He was undefeated in all six starts over the ‘half-mile’ highlighted by victories in the group 1 RSN Sandown Cup and Crocmedia National Distance Championship.

“We had a great ride at Sandown last year all thanks to Tornado Tears,” said trainer Robert Britton.

“You appreciate these things at the end of the year because at the time it’s bit of a whirlwind but you look back on it and you realise that you’ve had a very lucky year with a very good dog.”

Tornado Tears on the comeback trail


My Redeemer won the group 1 Harrison-Dawson in May before taking out the world’s greatest greyhound race, the TAB Melbourne Cup, six months later. He raced at Sandown Park 14 times in 2018, winning eight times and being placed on four more occasions netting over $575,000 in prize money.

“It is a great honour to share the Sandown Greyhound of the Year with a great dog like Tornado Tears, they both had fantastic years,” said trainer David Geall.

“Winning the Melbourne Cup and Harrison-Dawson – we’re just privileged to train a dog like him. We bred the dog, we whelped him down and reared him, it’s been a fantastic ride with him.”

David Geall elated over My Redeemer’s Cup triumph


Poke The Bear was also considered for the for the award after winning 10 times at Sandown Park in 2018 – seven of which were in top grade – including the September Speed Star.


Sandown Greyhound of the Year honour roll

Year Greyhound
2002 Boomeroo
2003 Arvo’s Junior
2004 Whisky Assassin
2005 Closing Argument
2006 Betty’s Angel
2007 Shanlyn Prince
2008 Fallen Zorro
2009 Amity Bale
2010 El Grand Senor
2011 Bobby Boucheau
2012 Irma Bale
2013 Xylia Allen
2014 Sweet It Is
2015 Fernando Bale
2016 Dundee Osprey
2017 Aston Dee Bee
2018 My Redeemer and Tornado Tears
Mick Floyd
About Mick Floyd - Mick is the Racing and Media Manager at Sandown Park and has 15 years of experience in the sport. He has a finely tuned talent for finding three legs of a quaddie. You can follow his ramblings on Twitter - @mickfloyd
View all posts