First run in 1998, the Group 2 Shootout is Australia’s speed championship, with the four fastest greyhounds in the country racing for a $50,000, winner-takes-all prize. All runners gain automatic entry into the TAB Melbourne Cup heats.

The Shootout will be run on New Years Day Monday, January 1 2018.

The 2016 edition saw Zambora Brockie lead all the way to defeat Outside Pass in 29.17. Click here for a wrap.

Zambora Brockie wins the 2016 Shootout