## 2016 Sandown Speed Star - Event Conditions

- The Speed Star shall be run on Thursday 1 September 2016
- Nominations close with GRV at 12noon on Friday 26 August 2016
- The final field shall consist of the eight fastest greyhounds nominated, based on times recorded at Sandown Park (SAN, SAP and stewards trials) from 1 June 2016 and 28 August 2016
- Stewards trials will be conducted on Sunday 14, 21 and 28 August and must by booked with the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club by 12noon by the preceding Friday. A maximum of eight greyhounds will be conducted per Sunday, and will be run between races at the discretion of the stewards.
- Should a trainer wish to compete in a subsequent trial, preference will be given to those greyhounds that have not previously trialled
- Greyhounds trained outside of Victoria that have not raced at Sandown Park since 1 May 2016 will have the option to trial during the race meeting on Thursday 25 August 2016. Trials must be booked with the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club and is subject to the approval of the GRV Stewards Department
- Greyhounds trialling during any of the above dates will be kennelled and trial under normal race conditions and are subject to being swabbed
- The final field will be declared following the final trial session on Sunday 28 August 2016
- A manual box draw for the final will be conducted at Sandown Park following the final nominated greyhound's trial on Sunday 28 August
- The race will consist of four match races, with two greyhounds per match
- Matches will run as per the box draw, ie 1v2, 3v4, 5v6, 7v8
- Greyhounds will jump from boxes 1 or 3 (odd numbers greyhounds from box 1, even numbered greyhounds from box 3)
- In the event of a scratching, the reserve greyhound shall take the place of the scratched runner as per GAR22(11)
- The race will carry \$61,000 in prize money (\$10,000 for the winner of each match, with the overall winner receiving an additional \$15,000 and second place \$6000)
- The winner of the race will be the greyhound with the fastest official time with placings decided in ascending time order
- The winner of the event will earn an exemption into the 2016 Shootout
- Sandown Greyhound Racing Club and Greyhound Racing Victoria reserve the right to alter and/or add to these conditions