2020 Sandown Greyhound of the Year finalists

Three of greyhound racing’s biggest stars have been named as finalists for the 2020 Sandown Greyhound Of The Year.

Hard Style Rico, Simon Told Helen and Tiggerlong Tonk dominated group racing across Victoria in 2020 and it was at Sandown Park where their abundant ability of on full display.

The triumvirate won 18 races between them at Sandown Park in 2020, four of which were at group level with seven were in sub-29.20 seconds. They combined to win over $800,000 in prize money at Sandown Park alone.

The Sandown Greyhound Of The Year is voted on by the Club’s Directorate, the CEO, Racing Manager and Racing Coordinator and will be announced at the club’s Annual General Meeting at on Tuesday 19 January and presented at the Australian Sprint/Maidment Memorial meeting on Thursday 21 January.

Listed below (in alphabetical order) are the three finalists and their records at Sandown Park in 2020.

Hard Style Rico

Sandown record in 2020
9 starts 4-1-0
Prize money: $459,750
Winning times: 28.91 (TRACK RECORD), 29.17, 29.31, 30.12

WON Group 1 TAB Melbourne Cup
4th Group 2 Shootout
4th Group 3 Easter Gift

Hard Style Rico wins the TAB Melbourne Cup in track record 28.909

Simon Told Helen

Sandown record in 2020
8 starts 5-3-0
Prize money: $220,950
Winning times: 29.11, 29.21, 29.23, 29.26, 29.36

WON Group 1 Harrison-Dawson
WON Gr8 Eight
2nd Group 1 Melbourne Cup
2nd Victorian National Sprint final

Simon Told Helen defeats a stellar field to win the group 1 Harrison-Dawson

Tiggerlong Tonk

Sandown record in 2020
19 starts 9-5-2
Prize money: $120,750
Winning times: 29.03 (Shootout race record), 29.12, 29.14, 29.16, 29.26, 29.32, 29.36 29.38, 29.99

WON Group 3 Shootout
WON Group 3 Easter Gift
2nd Listed Australian Sprint
2nd Gr8 Eight
3rd Group 1 Harrison-Dawson
4th Group 1 TAB Melbourne Cup
Also won five Free For Alls

Tiggerlong Tonk wins the Shootout in a race record 29.034

Paw note: Finalist’s head to head records at Sandown in 2020:

Simon Told Helen vs Tiggerlong Tonk 3-0
Simon Told Helen vs Hard Style Rico 2-1
Hard Style Rico vs Tiggerlong Tonk 2-3

Sandown Greyhound of the Year
Honour Roll

Year  Greyhound
2002  Boomeroo
2003  Arvo’s Junior
2004  Whisky Assassin
2005  Closing Argument
2006  Betty’s Angel
2007  Shanlyn Prince
2008  Fallen Zorro
2009  Amity Bale
2010  El Grand Senor
2011  Bobby Boucheau
2012  Irma Bale
2013  Xylia Allen
2014  Sweet It Is
2015  Fernando Bale
2016  Dundee Osprey
2017  Aston Dee Bee
2018  My Redeemer and Tornado Tears
2019  Neo Cleo

Mick Floyd
About Mick Floyd - Mick is the Racing and Media Manager at Sandown Park and has 15 years of experience in the sport. He has a finely tuned talent for finding three legs of a quaddie. You can follow his ramblings on Twitter - @mickfloyd
View all posts