2019 By The Numbers

It was a another memorable year at Sandown Park with a number of records set.

Hooked On Scotch’s well publicised 515m track record came as little surprise to connections, nor to his legion of fans the just turned two year old has quickly acquired.

Other records to fall include the 595m first split record now held by Dyna Patty (8.96), the highest priced fixed odds winner ($101 by Dashing Dino and matched by Miss Zok Dee), and the the number of trials conducted by the club with 8202 conducted, an 20% increase on 2018 (excludes trials after the last race on Sundays).

We also had four dead heats through the year, with Vens Revenge becoming the first greyhound to do so twice at the track.

Our 22 black type races were won by 16 different greyhounds, with 12 different trainers sharing the spoils.

Here’s a run down of 2019, by the numbers.



Most wins Greyhound True Detective (8)
Trainer Jeff Britton (76)
Most prize money earned Greyhound Whiskey Riot ($461,010)
Trainer Andrea Dailly ($548,840)
Strike rate (min 20 starters) Jason Thompson (48% – 37 wins from 77 starters)
Fastest time 515m Hooked On Scotch (28.939 – TRACK RECORD)
595m Dyna Patty (33.732)
715m Tornado Tears (41.367)
Biggest win 14.43 lengths – Imminent Reality
Race meetings 103
Races run 1182
Dead heats 4
Starters 8607
Highest priced winner $101 – Dashing Dino & Miss Zok Dee
Trials – FastTrack Total 8202
Wed – arm 3585
Sat – arm 3957
Sat – pen 660
Feature Race Winners
Group 1 Greyhound Trainer
Melbourne Cup Whiskey Riot Anthony Azzopardi
Sandown Cup Rajasthan Robert Camilleri
Harrison-Dawson Orson Allen Correy Grenfell
Sapphire Crown Neo Cleo Robert Britton
Bold Trease Tornado Tears Robert Britton
Group 2
McKenna Memorial Often Imitated Jackie Greenough
Laurels Oakvale Beauty Jeff Britton
Group 3
Launching Pad Tauwitchere Steve White
Shootout Hooked On Scotch Jason Thompson
Easter Gift Neo Cleo Robert Britton
Bill Collins SS Flynn Harry Manolitsis
Racecallers SS Neo Cleo Robert Britton
Lizrene SS Dyna Chancer Correy Grenfell
Speed Star Hooked On Scotch Jason Thompson
Speed Star 595 Spring Bridge Jason Thompson
Speed Star Stayers Tornado Tears Robert Britton
Sir John Dillon Memorial Kessler Bale Andrea Dailly
Cup Night Sprint Simon Told Helen David Burnett
Maidment Memorial Deliver Seona Thompson
Australian Sprint Orson Allen Correy Grenfell
TAB Cup Night Stayers Dyna Chancer Correy Grenfell
Sky Racing Stayers True Detective Jeff Britton


Distance Box 1 Box 2 Box 3 Box 4 Box 5 Box 6 Box 7 Box 8 Total
515 m 96 86 76 58 42 47 35 33 473
595 m 30 11 13 5 10 13 4 5 91
715 m 6 8 5 4 4 7 5 6 45


2019 Sandown group 1 winner play list


Mick Floyd
About Mick Floyd - Mick is the Racing and Media Manager at Sandown Park and has 15 years of experience in the sport. He has a finely tuned talent for finding three legs of a quaddie. You can follow his ramblings on Twitter - @mickfloyd
View all posts