2018 Sandown GOTY finalists

The Sandown Greyhound Racing Club today announced My Redeemer, Poke The Bear and Tornado Tears as finalists for the club’s 2018 Greyhound of the Year.

The sons of 2015 Sandown GOTY Fernando Bale combined to win 29 races at headquarters during 2018 including four group 1s, three Speed Stars and over $1m in prize money while running some of the fastest times ever seen at the View Road circuit.

The Sandown Greyhound of the Year is voted on by the club committee, CEO and Racing Manager and will be announced at the club’s Australia Day race meeting on Thursday 24 January.

Listed below in alphabetical order are the three GOTY contenders with their 2018 achievements at Sandown Park.


Sandown Greyhound of the Year finalists


My Redeemer

Trainer: David Geall
Record: 14 starts 8-2-2
Prize money: $575,665
Feature races:
WON G1 TAB Melbourne Cup
WON G1 Harrison-Dawson
3rd G3 Bill Collins Speed Star
Res G2 Launching Pad
Best times:   
515m – 29.123
595m – 33.901

My Redeemer wins the TAB Melbourne Cup


Poke The Bear

Trainer: Seona Thompson
Record: 19 starts 10-1-1
7 FFA wins
Prize money: $90,470
Features races:
WON September Speed Star
2nd G3 Bill Collins Speed Star
6th G3 Easter Gift
7th G1 TAB Melbourne Cup
Best times:         
515m – 29.017 (6th fastest ever)

Poke The Bear wins Speed Star VII


Tornado Tears

Trainer: Robert Britton
Record: 15 starts 11-1-0
Prize money: $341,260
Feature races:
WON G1 RSN Sandown Cup
WON G1 Crocmedia National Distance Championship
WON G3 Racecallers Speed Star
WON Speed Star 595
5th G2 Launching Pad
5th G2 McKenna Memorial
Best times:         
595m – 33.668 (2nd fastest time ever)
715m – 41.204 (2nd fastest time ever)

Tornado Tears wins the RSN Sandown Cup


Sandown Greyhound of the Year Honour Roll

Year Greyhound
2002 Boomeroo
2003 Arvo’s Junior
2004 Whisky Assassin
2005 Closing Argument
2006 Betty’s Angel
2007 Shanlyn Prince
2008 Fallen Zorro
2009 Amity Bale
2010 El Grand Senor
2011 Bobby Boucheau
2012 Irma Bale
2013 Xylia Allen
2014 Sweet It Is
2015 Fernando Bale
2016 Dundee Osprey
2017 Aston Dee Bee
Mick Floyd
About Mick Floyd - Mick is the Racing and Media Manager at Sandown Park and has 15 years of experience in the sport. He has a finely tuned talent for finding three legs of a quaddie. You can follow his ramblings on Twitter - @mickfloyd
View all posts