Stars set for Speed Spectacular!

Six group race winners are among the eight fastest nominations for Sunday’s Speed Star match race spectacular at Sandown Park.

Topping the time sheets are kennel mates Zara’s Entity and Eminent Reality, qualifying in a slick 29.267 and 29.270 respectively. Bewildering (29.301) and Black Mumbo (29.275) will line up in their second match race series after the pair quinellaed the Bill Collins Speed Star in May, and will be joined by exciting youngsters Mepunga Blazer (29.342) and Jimmy Newob (29.381).

Worm Burner (29.358) will get his chance to claim a Speed Star after injury curtailed his hopes in May, while Alpha Aion (20.392), a greyhound that only recently celebrated its second birthday, will face his biggest challenge on the race track.

The eight fastest qualifiers have won more than $1.1m in prize money, with a further $50,000 up for grabs on Sunday.

The inaugural Speed Star ‘Super Sunday’ will feature matches over all distances including the 715m and will be headlined by one of the country’s highest rated stayers, Burn One Down. His qualifying time of 41.733 is more than five lengths quicker than Sydney raider Ebby Ripper (42.160), however Ebby Ripper has been very well supported by punters ahead of the fields being announced.

The first of 24 matches will jump at 5.41pm on Sunday. Entry to the track is free and VIP dining packages are still available for just $25. Patrons on course will have the opportunity to win a Ford Mustang valued at $52,000, participate in the Punters Club (which, during our famous ‘Money Back Month’ can’t lose!), win a number of prizes and giveaways, meet celebrity guests, and enjoy live music all while the country’s fastest chasers race head to head for a share in $150,000 in prize money.

For those unable to make it to the track, Dave Carlson and James Van de Maat will be leading the feature coverage of the event on Sky Racing 2 which will be made available free to all payTV subscribers.

Click here for full details including nominations for each event. Matches will be drawn Wednesday 6 Setpember and will be available from approximately 9.00am.

Related Posts