Dundee Osprey heads Shootout nominees

Sandown Park has received 12 nominations for the $50,000 winner-take-all Shootout.

Dundee Osprey heads the list and is guaranteed a spot in the four dog spectacular after he won September’s Speed Star, the only Shootout exemption race. His record over 515m at Sandown Park speaks for itself having had 13 starts for 7 wins, the slowest of them in 29.31.

The final field will feature the fastest four greyhounds nominated in the opinion of the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club and Greyhound Racing Victoria.

The field will be announced on The Catching Pen, 6.30pm this Tuesday on Sky Racing 2 with the box draw to be held on-course this Thursday night.

The box draw will be conducted in the following format:The name of each finalist will be placed in a barrel and drawn at random by the steward in charge. The greyhound’s owner (or authorised representative) will step forward and select the box from which the greyhound will start. Greyhounds will jump from boxes 1, 3, 5 and 7.

All runners will be exempt into the TAB Melbourne Cup heats on Friday 11 November.

Ando’s Mac – Jason Mackay
Benteke – Brett Bravo
Blazin’ Bomber – Darren Pattinson
Brad Hill Billy – Ray Smith
Dundee Osprey – Geoff Scott-Smith
Jesaulenko – Terri-Maree Morris
Outside Pass – Tony Apap
Ritza Lenny – Mark Gatt
Unlawful Entry – Brett Bravo
Worm Burner – Cameron Butcher
Yanong – Lee Moore
Zambora Brockie – Anthony Azzopardi

For more information please contact the Club’s racing department on (03) 9546 9511.