Bill Collins Speed Star field finalised

Eight of Australia’s fastest chasers will converge on Sandown Park this Thursday night for the $61,000 group 3 Bill Collins Speed Star match race series.

On the final day of qualifying trials, Blazin’ Bomber (29.176) and Invictus Rapid (29.233) defied the cold and windy conditions to elevate themselves in the final field. Pure Titanium (29.55) also trialed but was unable to improve on his previous time of 29.376.

The box draw was conducted on course and streamed live on the club’s Facebook page.


Each odd numbered greyhound will jump from box 1, each even numbered greyhound will jump from box 3. The winner of each match will collect $10,000, with the fastest overall time earning the title of Speed Star and collect a further $15,000. The greyhound with the second fastest time will collect $6000.

The Bill Collins Speed Star is the highlight of a big night of racing featuring the group 3 Lizrene (715m) and group 3 Racecallers (595m). It is the first week of a big month of racing at Sandown Park, culminating in the world’s richest race for stayers, the $250,000 group 1 RSN927 Sandown Cup.

Click here for further details about the Bill Collins Speed Star.

Bill Collins Speed Star qualifying order:

1. Dalgetty, 29.087
2. Outside Pass, 29.105
3. Dundee Osprey, 29.109
4. Major Jackpot, 29.118
5. Burn One Down, 29.156
6. Blazin’ Bomber, 29.177
7. Buck Forty, 29.226
8. Invictus Rapid, 29.233
9. Allen Portland, 29.296
10. Dawkins Bale, 29.338